Manage participants

Add Users

For most institutions, student enrollment for registered courses is handled automatically through integration with the institutional student information system. However, if your institution allows site owners to add other participants such as TAs, Designers, etc., this article will walk you through the steps on how to add users.

  1. Go to the SITE INFO tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

    Go to Site Info.
  2. Click Add Participants.

    Click Add Participants.
  3. Add participant information.

    1. For participants with official usernames, under "Other Official Participants", type each participant's username, one per line.
    2. For participants without official usernames, under "Non-official Participants", enter their email addresses, one per line.
    3. Under "Participant Roles", choose whether to give all your newly added participants the same role or different roles (i.e. student, instructor, TA, etc.).
    4. Under "Participant Status", choose whether to let your newly added participants use the site right away by selecting "Active", or keep them from accessing the site for now by selecting "Inactive".
    5. Click Continue.
    Add participant information.
  4. Choose participant role.

    For the default option of "Assign all participants the same role", select the radio button for the desired role and then click Continue.

    If you chose to "Assign each participant a role individually", use the drop-down menus to the right of the participants' names to select each participant's role, and then click Continue.

    Choose participant role.

    Select a role for all participants.

    Select individual participant roles.

    Select individual participant roles.

  5. Choose to send or not send a notification email.

    You may choose the "Send Now" option to send a notification email to participants if desired.  The default setting is "Don't send".

    Click the Continue button.

    Choose to send or not send a notification email.
  6. Confirm addition of participants.

    Review the list of site participants and their roles to confirm that they will be added to your site.

    If the information is correct, click the Finish button.

    Confirm addition of participants.

Remove Users

Note: OWL does not destructively delete user data when removing users from a site. Therefore, if you remove a user from your site, and then later reinstate that user, all of the user's activity within the site will remain intact once you add the user back into the course or project.

  1. Go to the SITE INFO tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

    Go to Site Info.
  2. Select user(s) to remove.

    In the "Remove" column, check the box in the row for the user(s) you want to remove from your site.

    Note: You can remove all users from the site by checking the box at the top of the column right next to the Remove column header. However, be sure that you uncheck yourself so you don't remove your own access!

    Select user(s) to remove.
  3. Click Update Participants.

    Click Update Participants.

User Audit Log

The User Audit Log displays manual enrollment and user update information for your site. If anyone adds a user, removes a user, or changes a user's role in the site, a log of the change will be noted here.

Note: Currently this log displays add/remove/update events, for manually updated events only. It does not display automated course enrollment activity such as events handled via Web Services or other SIS integration.

  1. Go to the SITE INFO tool from the Tool Menu of your site.

    Go to Site Info.
  2. Click User Audit Log.

    Click User Audit Log.
  3. View event information.

    The following information will display:

    1. "Name": The name of the user account that was modified.
    2. "User ID": The user id of the user account that was modified.
    3. "Role": The role of the user account that was modified.
    4. "Date": The date and time that the change was made.
    5. "Event": The type of change that was made to the account (i.e. add a user to course, remove the user from course, or update user role).
    6. "Source": The name and user id of the account that initiated the event.

    Note: You may sort by any of the columns by clicking on the column heading. Click on the heading again to sort in the opposite direction (ascending/descending).

    View event information.